MyBindi CEO inspires women at the ICCC International Women's Day Event

MyBindi CEO inspires women at the ICCC International Women's Day Event

A new Women’s Committee was initiated by the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce (ICCC) on International Women’s Day. The first Women Entrepreneurs and Professionals (WEP) committee was launched on March 8 in front of a full house to celebrate the occasion.

ICCC Board with PanellistsICCC Board with Panellists

More than 150 women attended the event that had a panel discussion moderated by community leader and Television host Kanta Arora. Members of the panel who had a mandate to discuss Immigration and Women – the tough road to success — included Amrit Mangat, parliamentary assistant to Ministry of Children and Youth Services and MPP, Dipika Damerla, parliamentary assistant to Ministry of Community & Social Services and MPP, Rajni Tekriwal, founder, Tekriwal Law Office and Syerah Virani, Editor-in-Chief & CEO of

Each panellist provided a brief glimpse into her personal journey in Canada and the unifying component were the challenges and opportunities they faced and how they overcome those.

Surbhi Guleria-Joshi, the former director of ICCC was honoured on the occasion by the Chamber’s president Naval Bajaj with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal.

“The Chamber has had a long history of adapting to the new developments within the community. ICCC has done different things and done same things differently,” said Bajaj.

The formation of WEP may seem like a major step, says Bajaj, but it also reveals ICCC’s adaptability and dynamism. “The Chamber has consistently given due weightage to women’s role and achievement in public sphere. When it instituted the annual awards more than two decades ago, it recognized the achievements and the contributions of women entrepreneurs and women professionals,” he stated.

“The committee will focus on providing a platform for women entrepreneurs and professionals and work to augment ICCC’s membership in that demographic,” said Naval Bajaj, president of the ICCC. The committee, initially led by Bajaj, will comprise Ginni Sethi, Ravi Malhi, Mini Khurana, Smita Dayal and Shibani Sahney

Click HERE to read the complete story in Indian Express as reported by Renu Mehta